Chemex Spotted in Grand Rapids

As most of my good friends know, I’m very particular about my coffee.  My favorite brewing style is to use a Chemex slowdrip, which produces the best-tasting coffee in the world (provided you’re using good beans, of course).  It’s perhaps a bit more time-consuming than other brewing methods, but that’s partly the beauty of it.  The ritual of tying the leather cord around the wooden neck and using my thin-spouted enamel pot to slowly pour hot water over the grinds in a circular motion is all part of what makes the Chemex brewing process an essential part of my mornings.

So you can imagine my surprise when I walked into Madcap Coffee in Grand Rapids, MI earlier this week and saw that they had Chemex-brewed coffees on their menu.  I’ve yet to come across a cafe in NYC that offers this slow-drip delight so it was a real shock to the system to find it in Grand Rapids while on a business trip!  I went there a total of four times on my three-day trip so I guess you can say I felt right at home.  Anyway, will post more on the surprisingly wonderful things found in Grand Rapids in the coming weeks so stay tuned.

Chemex at Madcap Coffee in Grand Rapids, MI
Chemex at Madcap Coffee in Grand Rapids, MI
How I brew coffee at home.
How I brew coffee at home.
About suite2046

Trend Analysis & Applied Futurism. London / NY / Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

